Ukrainian composer of contemporary classical music

Concerto for Clarinet and Chamber Ensemble (full score)

ID: SM-000057231
ComposerAlexander Shchetynsky
PublisherAlexander Shchetynsky
Year of composition 2010
Genre Classical / Contemporary
Instrumentation Piano, Flute, Flute piccolo, Clarinet, Bassoon, Oboe, Horn, Trombone, Trumpet, Violin, Viola, Cello, Double bass, Glockenspiel, Marimba, Triangle, Vibraphone, Cymbals, Bass drum, Wood block, Tom-tom
Scored forSolo, Chamber orchestra
Type of scoreFull score
Duration 17'0"
Movement(s) 1 to 2 from 2
Difficulty Very difficult
Description Clarinet concerto consists of two contrasting movements. The first is a soft and delicate scherzo with light vanishing passages of clarinet covered by echoes of the ensemble. The second movement starts with meditative psalmody, as if the instruments recite a hidden sacred text. The theme undergoes intensive elaboration and spreads this quasi-vocal style of playing among all the instruments, including percussion and having the most strange appearance in tom-toms brief cadenza. At the certain point the slow movement is interrupted by animated episode which leads to the dramatic climax of the whole piece. Solo clarinet always plays the role of the leader of the ensemble, its challenging part contains many virtuoso elements and exploits various expressive and technical recourses. The technical basement of the piece is a combination of free atonality and modality which also incorporates some tonal elements. Concerto was premiered in 2010 in New York by Alan R. Kay and The New Paths Ensemble conducted by David Alan Miller.
Upload date 14.02.2011


21.00 USD

30.00 USD
Read license

PDF, 3.35 Mb (85 p.)


Log in to post a comment